CLIENT TESTIMONIALS

 

 

FACEBOOK REVIEWS

 

Tonya G.

★★★★★

 

My hair has never looked better! I'm a highlighted blonde with thin hair. One of Melissa's best skills is helping your hair find it's true potential. Now I know how to "fake" full & lush looking hair. From cut to color and the best products to use, she is a MASTER stylist! I highly recommend her.

 

Laura D.

★★★★★

 

Melissa is fantastic. She is a whiz at color. We spent about two years experimenting with various shades of red (a difficult one, as I understand it). I loved every shade she came up with, and we even adjusted the color here and there depending on the season/my skin tone at that time of year. I was impressed each time I left the salon.

She does a great job with haircuts and styling as well. She knows the right questions to ask you to figure out what you're after in a haircut, and is great at "translating" from customer-speak into salon-speak to give you the best results. Just look at the photos from her professional shoots. . .she is THAT amazing!

 

 

Rebecca H.

★★★★★

 

I have never in my life had as many compliments on my hair and color as I have with Melissa. Strangers have stopped me on the street to ask who does my hair and/or tell me how much they like it. Even though Melissa is exceptionally talented she doesn't just rely on that - she takes classes and stays current on all of the trends. Plus she is super smart so we always have great conversations while I am in the chair!

 

 

Alima Belconis

★★★★★

 

Melissa took the time to ask me about the look I desired and my lifestyle. She really wanted my haircuts to reflect me. I have curly hair and have had it buzzed very short to very long passed my shoulders. She always went with the flow of my changing styles. She also did my hair for my wedding. I went with a 1940's style and she did a magnificent job.

 

 

Kat Massey

★★★★★

 

What can't I say... Melissa is the Best! I had been going to see her for over 6 years and every time I would leave feeling like a million bucks. She was always spot on with my color and her cuts always turned out how I had envisioned them but better. Mel has fixed many self inflicted disasters of home dye jobs and trims. She has been there for all of my 'breakup' hair chopping moments and is fantastic at bobs. She also did an amazing 'pinup' inspired updo for my friend and I. Mel always did meticulous work, giving me her full attention and never she made it seemed like she was rushing or squeezing me in. Her knowledge of products is extensive and her recommendations were always greatly appreciated since I am a novice of haircare.

2010 - present

2010 - present

Yelp Reviews

 

Alexa 

★★★★★
05/9/2016

 

Melissa is very professional as well as personable. She works hard at listening to what her client wants, then does a beautiful job of creating just the right outcome. I highly recommend working with Mel to get the look you want. I need.

 

Katharine H.

★★★★★

1/18/2016

Melissa M is an artist who sculpts color to your specifications. I've been seeing her for many years and she has never disappointed. Since I am considering going au natural, Mel is coloring my hair in such a way I can change my mind without an extreme color change. She communicates clearly and listens attentively. I miss her in the Lakeview salon, but will travel to Wilmette for her expertise, though Lakeview has never disappointed me either.  Her cuts are flattering and I love her good humor. She is a joy to be around. 
The salon is clean and well run. I particularly love the hand massages you get. If you are looking for a dynamite stylist who does it all, ask for Mel.

 

Kat M

★★★★★

01/06/16

 

Master Stylist Melissa Messer
What can't I say... Melissa is the Best! I have been going to her for over 8 years and every time I leave, I feel like a million bucks! She is always spot on with the color I'm looking for and her cuts turn out often times better than how I envision them to be. Mel has fixed many self inflicted disasters of home dye jobs and trims. She has been there for all of my 'breakup' hair chopping moments and is fantastic at doing bobs. She also did an amazing 'pinup' inspired updo for my friend and I. Mel always does meticulous work, giving me her full attention and never makes it seem like she is rushing or squeezing me in. Her knowledge of products is extensive and her recommendations are always greatly appreciated since I am a novice of haircare. Her latest masterpiece on my hair is the ombré/balayage look, which I absolutely love and have received endless compliments. No matter where you go Melissa, I will follow... I am just especially grateful for where you are currently located, super accessible being right off the highway and tons of free parking!

 

 

Jennifer V.

★★★★★

9/20/2015

 

Mel Messer is amazing!! She listens to all of my oddball requests, such as "I'd like my hair to match my passion iced tea from Starbucks!". But most of all, she is a fantastic stylist. I don't trust anyone else with my hair. She takes her time, is precise, and always checks in with you during the cut. Go see her!!!

 

 

Rebecca H.

★★★★★

8/13/2015

Melissa Messer - Gordon Salon 

Pros: Made my fine hair look thicker and fuller than I imagined was possible.  She really listened to me and somehow understood what I wanted even when I didn't - intuitive, is the right word I think.

Cons: When you book the appointment be sure to ask for "Mel", evidently there are several Melissa's.  Also, I live in the city and the shop is in Wilmette but there is free parking and a nice grocery store nearby so I was able to accomplish another errand.  

On July 28, 2015, I visited Melissa "Mel" Messer at Gordon Salon and Spa at 3232 Lake Avenue in Wilmette, IL for a cut and highlights.  When I arrived they checked me in right away and offered me ice water.  Mel consulted with me first about what I wanted - discussing both the cut and highlights.  Unfortunately, I was not very sure about what would work with my thinning and fine hair, she offered some pictures and I also had a few on my phone.  She asked me very specific questions to get at the heart of what I liked best about each style.

I already had fairly short hair so I was afraid there wasn't enough to work with but I had high hopes.  First she brought out the samples of the highlights that she was thinking about, I thought they were perfect.  After finishing my color treatment and with freshly washed hair we sat down again at her station and reviewed what she was going to do.  She checked in with me along the way and adapted the style we selected to best suite me.  

I was absolutely stunned when she was done.  My formerly flat (not in a good way), fine hair looked bouncy and healthy in a way that I had not seen in a while.  I could not believe the difference.  She also spent time showing me how to maintain the look at home.  I waited a couple of weeks to write this because the real test of a great cut is how well the it looks as it starts to grow out.  I am happy to report that I love it today as much as I did the day she cut it.  Her home styling tips have worked perfectly and I am shocked that I can maintain it on a daily basis.  No doubt about it, I will be a loyal client and see the drive out to the burbs as more than worth it.

 

Margaret K.

7/12/2015

★★★★★

 

Melissa has been my ONLY stylist for the past 10 years. She is creative, brilliant and, most importantly, a really good listener. She will do your hair the way that makes you feel good about yourself. She is talented and creative enough to know all the latest techniques and methods and subtly use them to create a style that really works. Needless to say, I am not an easy person to please (esp. w/ my hair) but Melissa was the only one I would ever trust to cut my hair.

 

 

Tonya G.

6/11/2015

★★★★★

 

I've been a loyal Gordon Customer for over 7 years. I'd been going to the Lakeview location until my stylist recently moved to the Wilmette location. It was SO worth the drive out of the city to get my hair done by Melissa. She's very knowledgable, helpful, and always willing to give advice. I have highlighted thin hair and she knows to really make me look FABULOUS! She has also given me tips on how to replicate her blow drying techniques at home. It's hard to find a stylist that's an expert in both cutting & coloring, but I feel lucky that I've found just that in Melissa! You won't be disappointed. Also- now I don't have to pay for parking or worry about parking tickets. Double win!

 

Melissa C.

★★★★★

 

After more than my fair share of bad salon experiences, I've finally found a salon I plan on sticking with!

Melissa is outstanding! She takes the time to listen to your concerns and actually takes the time to explain why she does things and what will work best with your type of hair.  She is really passionate about what she does and proves that it's really quite an art.  Looking forward to seeing her for some highlights next time!